I should never assume healthfulness, especially during times of travel. Of course not... This should be obvious to me by now, and I really ought to be better prepared.

It did not take long for my body to react to the new environment, time zone and eating habits, resulting in my first illness abroad approximately 5 days after arriving.

I thought a few cough drops and a good night's sleep will cure me, but of course not...

I awoke each day feeling worse and worse, causing me to see a doctor earlier this afternoon. The experience was interesting in comparison to a doctor appointment in California. The room I was seen in was a typical office, one in which you might see a banker or other businessman. The doctor sat me in a chair by his desk and I did not feel like a science experiment on display as one might in the average US medical room. His attitude was very welcoming and his English was great (as expected), although he had one funny slip-up when he asked me to pull up my "trousers" so that he may listen to my lungs. He of course meant shirt, and after taking various measurements, he sent me on my way with some prescriptions.

On the way out, I spoke with the man at reception for at least ten minutes. He's a med student about to finish his studies and has visited California three times in the past. He, like everyone else I have met, has only been extremely nice. People had told me that the Dutch are some of the nicest people in the world, and I am glad I can confirm.

Although I don't want to need to return to the doctor's, I will look forward (per se) to going back when I need to (and I will).
Aunt Cindy
8/16/2013 05:34:53 am

Boy oh boy...how do you get so lucky? Im glad you found a nice dr. And he was able to set you on your way. From the sounds of your past experience you need to get a new CA dr. Or come to IL where we have nice drs.!

Reply



Leave a Reply.